CRAILING, ECKFORD & NISBET COMMUNITY COUNCIL Annual General Meeting, Lothian Hall, Crailing 25TH May 2016 7:00pm MINUTE

1. Attendees: John Campbell (Chair), Ron Leddy (Vice Chairman), Sylvia Seivwright (Secretary/Treasurer), Sheila Campbell, Charlie Robertson, Caroline Cook, Donald Linton, Elliot Lewis, Cllr Rory Stewart and circa 20 members of the public.

2. Apologies: Marie Hogg

3. Presentation 'Jane Bowers – Borders National Park'

Professor Jane Bowers explained her vision for a Scottish Borders National Park which currently has a tentative boundary (see <u>www.borders-national-park.scot</u>). In her opinion there would be significant benefits to the local economy from tourism and by attracting more people to live within the park area. For a project of this nature to progress it requires support from the local communities, Scottish Borders Council and the Scottish Government. She anticipates core funding from the Scottish Government but typically one third of the finances would need to come from elsewhere e.g. The Big Lottery. The next step is to conduct a feasibility study.

The presentation generated a number of questions from the public relating to

- a) the backers of the scheme
- b) the impact on Country sports e.g. hunting, shooting and fishing
- c) significance of the River Tweed in respect of Scottish & English legislation
- d) the name of the park 'Borders National Park' v 'Scottish Borders National Park'
- e) added rules for properties, farms and crops
- f) perception of preserving the area in a time warp
- g)justification on improvement to the economy via tourism and other developments
- h) the boundary and whether or not and which towns would be within it
- i) the feasibility study
- j) involving the local communities in the decision making processes
- k) estate land owners support specifically Roxburgh, Lothian and Buccleuch
- I) legislation, what would be included and who decides

It was clear that this concept was embryonic and it could be some considerable time before it may come to fruition.

4. Minutes of previous AGM 27th MAY 2015 (Eckford)

The minutes were approved - proposed by Caroline Cook, seconded Donald Linton.

5. Chairman's Report

The Chairman gave an update on achievements throughout the year highlighting:- Jubilee Path, Group Purchase Schemes (Oil, LPG, Electricity and Oil Boiler Servicing, No Cold Callers Signs, Communications (e-groups, e-news), Bus Service 20 (formerly 120),Planning Applications, 30 mph signs Nisbet, speeding issues Ulston, planters Ulston, various road repairs, War Memorial Project (Margaret Jeary) and an update on the sale of Eckford Parish Church. He also commended local communities, Community Councillors, Cllr Rory Stewart and officials at Scottish Borders Council for their ongoing support throughout the year. (A full copy of the report is available on request.)

Questions were raised in relation to the very slow speed of Broadband and what was being done to improve the situation. Cllr Rory Stewart explained that SBC is working with BT in an effort to

unbundle exchanges, a paper giving further explanations will go to the Council on 29th June. It was noted that a village in Norfolk took matters into their own hands and the chair advised that there are a number of ways to improve personal broadband speed google '100 tips to improve broadband speed' for further information.

6. Treasurer's Report

The accounts were independently examined by Jock Henderson, the Treasurer gave a brief explanation of the accounts. No questions were raised and the accounts were formally approved proposed by Charlie Robertson, seconded by Donald Linton

The bank balance at 31st March 2016 is £4598.96 however £2516 of these funds are committed to the Website Project and £750 to the Jubilee Paths Project. Once other expenses have been anticipated there is a balance of £510.96.

7. Appointment/Election of Community Councillors

Two retirees John Campbell and Ron Leddy were re-elected and all other Community Councillors remained in office (Sylvia Seivright, Donald Linton, Caroline Cook, Elliot Lewis, Sheila Campbell, Charlie Robertson and Marie Hogg. Linda Coles has been nominated as a co-opted member this appointment will be formally considered at the next CC meeting.

8. Election of Officials, Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer

Chairman: John Campbell – proposed Sylvia Seivright, seconded Caroline Cook Vice Chairman: Ron Leddy – proposed Sheila Campbell, seconded Sylvia Seivright Secretary/Treasurer: Sylvia Seivright – proposed John Campbell, seconded Caroline Cook

9. Secretary/Treasurer Honorarium

Sylvia Seivright waived her right to an honorarium of £140 in favour of claiming expenses only.

10. Acceptance of Code of Conduct by Community Councillors

All Community Councillors accepted the conditions of the Code of Conduct. Marie Hogg to be contacted after the meeting to confirm that she also accepts these conditions.

11. AOCB

The issue of protecting defibrillators from cold weather with solar heated cabinets was discussed. An option is currently being tested at Clintmains, it was also suggested that specialists in caravan accessories may have a solution. **Action SC** to follow up

12. Date of next CC meeting

27th May 2016 – following AGM at Lothian Hall, Crailing 14th September 2016, 7:00, at Eckford